Contact Us

Planning & Building Department

Mill Valley City Hall (Downstairs)
26 Corte Madera Avenue Mill Valley, CA 94941

Phone: (415) 388-4033
Fax: (415) 381-1736


Counter Hours

To download a PDF of the Planning & Building Counter Hours, click here.

BUILDING Project Intake, Issue Approved Permits, Questions Over the Counter Permits**
Monday 8:00-10:00 am, 3:00-5:00 pm Closed
Tuesday 8:00-10:00 am, 3:00-5:00 pm 10:00 -11:30 am
Wednesday 3:00-5:00 pm Closed
Thursday 8:00-10:00 am, 3:00-5:00 pm 10:00 -11:30 am
Friday* 8:00-10:00 am, 3:00-5:00 pm Closed

*City Hall is closed holidays and every other Friday. Click here for details.


** Over the Counter service is geared towards small, residential-only projects that can be plan checked in approximately 10-15 minutes, such as minor kitchen or bath renovations. The service is on a first come, first served basis with a sign-up sheet available when the department opens at 8:00 am. It is recommended that you bring the plans in during regular counter hours to discuss the scope of the project to determine if the project can be processed through over the counter permitting services.


PLANNING Zoning and Property Development Questions, Application Materials, Project Intake
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday

8:00 am-12:00 pm
1:00 pm-5:00 pm

Wednesday 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
Friday Closed

 


Contact Information

 

Kari Svanstrom
Interim Director of Planning & Building
(415) 388-4033 x4039 ksvanstrom@cityofmillvalley.org


Building Division

Kirk Lindgren
Senior Building Inspector
(415) 388-4033 x4806
klindgren@cityofmillvalley.org
Kathy Toohey
Senior Building Inspector
(415) 388-4033 x4814 ktoohey@cityofmillvalley.org
Dan Martin
Senior Plan Checker/ADA Coordinator
dmartin@cityofmillvalley.org
No phone extension-please email

Richard Hynes
Building Inspector
(415) 388-4033 x 4822
rhynes@cityofmillvalley.org

Athena Langdon
Building/Permit Technician
(415) 388-4033 x4815
alangdon@cityofmillvalley.org
Becky Murray
Interim Building Administrative Aide & Receptionist
(415) 388-4033 x4034
bmurray@cityofmillvalley.org

Planning Division

Lisa Newman
Senior Planner
415-388-4033 x 4811
lnewman@cityofmillvalley.org
Danielle Staude
Senior Planner, Advanced Planning
415-388-4033 x 4812
dstaude@cityofmillvalley.org
Kari Svanstrom
Senior Planner
415-388-4033 x 4805
ksvanstrom@cityofmillvalley.org
Kathleen Kilgariff
Assistant Planner
415-388-4033 x 4810
kkilgariff@cityofmillvalley.org
Tauny Kasuya
Planning Administrative Aide
415-388-4033 x4809
tkasuya@cityofmillvalley.org